June 9, 2012

  • Emotional Depression is NOT a Sin!

    DSC_0476edit

    Life has been been a pretty nice experience overall, lately and for that, I feel tremendously blessed! By God’s grace, I am not in a pit of sadness or despair and recovered from grieving over a situation that seems to be a part of life as I know it right now. Enemy: big loss. God wins. Oh sure, it’s normal to be sad and worse, depressed at times. We’re humans! As God has held me and carried me through one thing or another, I choose to embrace his peace, his gentleness, his love. He sometimes allows tough things to happen; it’s life and I am being chiseled with love.

    So, the “kids” have been working this week, after they returned from a nice, big lake trip. I’ve also been working with my photography. It seems like as soon as I finish one project, another has opened up. I am SO grateful for the opportunities! Last weekend, my daughter-in-love was my shooting side-kick and she did well. I knew she would! I’m hoping she’ll really take off as a children’s photographer. She’s young and short and it’s much easier for her to catch them at their level!

    My mom and I have enjoyed a fairly regular schedule of going out together. THAT has been such a blessing! I do feel more positive about the whole situation with my parents and sister being here. They’re doing better and are learning the way our crazy little town is laid out.

    My grandwonders are just as cute as ever and I am ITCHING to get some amazing shots of them when they are willing to be still for JUST a few minutes!

    My hubby seems to be adjusting to a change in meds and I sure do love that guy, no matter what his wacked out thyroid does to him. His back pain ebbs and flows. Some days, it’s severe and he can’t do a thing. That, along with plain exhaustion and forgetfulness…well, he’ll just lie down and let life go by. That’s life for him.

    My workouts have taken a backseat for a couple of weeks as life got busier for a couple of us gals. Very soon, though, we’ll be back at it in a brand new little gym that our trainer has been having built. I am SO excited about that because we’ll have privacy and we’ll no longer have to deal with difficult people who are difficult because they never got the memo about personal responsibility.

    Time to go now. For those of you who got to the end here, thank you. I love you. I care about your lives and I pray for you, sometimes well into the night.

Comments (25)

  • “For those of you who got to the end here, thank you. I love you. I care about your lives and I pray for you, sometimes well into the night.”  This is why I read your blog.  ;)   Hoping you pray for me. 

  • @TrentTribe - I do my dear. It’s interesting to feel who God puts on my heart.

  • Thanks for praying.  If depression was a sin, David was a terrible sinner, because there’s a lot of depression in the Psalms, mixed in with the joy.  Of course, he was a sinner, but depressions wasn’t one of his sins, since it’s not a sin anyway.

  • @ata_grandma - And isn’t it wonderful that God forgave everything anyway at the cross? ( 8 

  • Thank you my friend, praying for you and yours also! 

  • you’re just, well…….wonderful

  • I just love it when God lifts us out of that pit! You get out and on your feet and wonder “what in the world was a doing there?!” but it does happen andonce we are out it reminds us how strong and  faithful God is!

  • cool post.good luck with everything.

  • Oh honey! Depression is just one of those things that we deal with because of the Fall. Know that I will never judge you over it. I’ve gone through it, too and am currently going through it. Why is it that folks can get meds if their blood pressure is too high or they have aches and pain or if they have an infection, but if someone has depression or needs help emotionally, they want to tear them to pieces!?!  It’s wrong! A guy can go get a little pill to help him out in his romantic endeavors, but let the same guy have emotional issues and he will tough them out rather than see a dr!  This is one of my pet peeves, in case you can’t tell! 

    Love that your daughter in love is helping you! How wonderful to have someone to tag along and be such a neat blessing! I wish I knew more about photography!  

  • I stuck around to read the whole thing and want you to know I think of you and your family often. I guess sometimes I feel I’m “out of sight, out of mind” with people. No footprints, no comments….and so, no posts. But I’m still around reading. May God comfort your heart and emotions as you work through things.

  • @MadraysGarden - My dear friend, you are one of the ones I pray for ALL of the time! I truly appreciate that you’ve read all the way through this. Every now and then when I do hop on here for a bit, I don’t see you and I think I should go to your site and check on you, but I ALways get distracted by someone else! The same happens with FB! I’m sorry you haven’t seen my footprint on your site because my prayer prints are indeed there 

  • @oldfatgramma - Thank you, Linda! I need to come visit you and read your “home again, home again” story!

  • @victoriantomboy - And YOU are a sweet Sugar Dumplin’! I love how we relate! ( 8

  • @DawneElla - You are so right! Once we’re out of that pit, it is like our eyes open to a truth we knew but forgot while we were wallowing in despair. I never want to give up hope for our situation OR for yours! Hugs!

  • @missprettyangeleyes - Thank you! It does take more than luck, but I appreciate your comment!

  •  I’m happy that you are out of the pit and walking in the sunshine.  But I’m so sorry about your husband’s health problems.  You are such an encourager.  Blessings!!

  •     I stopped Facebooking, but saw your lovely note: how are thing overthere….Well, a lot like your days: full..also filled with emotions and thoughts and feelings and meeting up…It rains..rains..rains, so my hushband and I descided to NOT go on a two week vacation we have planned. But instead: we are all down with this awfull flue…and my daughter with pneumonia is taying at our house so I can tend to her too…being ill my self…Depressed ? Sad? …yes, we are humans.

    Pray for me too Gail, I love you too, love to hear how wonderful your daughter-in-law is doing startin up her business..Good luck to all.

    Lieve groeten

    Godeliva

  • you’re such a sweetheart~ xo

  • @quiet_hearts - Blessings to you, dear Luci. I’m looking for a new bedspread. LOL!

  • @Ariadone - I have spoken to Jesus and asked him to please give you and your family relief from the sickness. I hope he wills to do that. Maybe you will be given an extra measure of endurance and the sun will shine over your home. As for my daughter-in-law’s business, I am encouraging her to go for it. I will soon ask her to help me with another shoot and maybe she’ll get more business through word of mouth. I think it would be wonderful to have another family member share the load! I’ll continue to pray for you!

  • @Mymanyblessings - My heart goes back to you!

  • @Hutch5 - Amber, Amber…how are you? Thank you for spreading your brand of sweetness my way!

  • Gail
    Jesus wept…..Jesus must have felt great, deep sorrow-”depression” at his friend Judas’ betrayal….at the sound of the rooster’s crow on the morn  of Peter’s denial……..at his friend Lazarus’ death…..at his father’s  silence and his mother’s prostrated, weeping, grief stricken face on crucifixion day…..There are so many other faces of depression-grief-sadness in Scripture….I believe the outcome though, is in faith…..that rock solid, refusal to give in to dispair, the foundation of no matter what GOD is with me, no matter what He will not leave me, no matter the bank account: He IS our provider, He is my loving Father, He is my Way…..it is a choice to every day put one foot in front of the other and choose to walk by faith…not sight,…….no matter our circumstances or feelings……and then when we see HOPE shining through the dark clouds- we raise our voices in praise to Him, when the provision comes we lift our voice in thanksgiving to Him, when the answer comes we recognize it and give the glory to whom the glory belongs…..we are so utterly helpless and so totally dependent on Him coming through for  us! We have to stake our present and our future on HIM…that is faith….that is walking by faith….are we sad sometimes? yes! But then we choose to look to Him from whom all blessings flow…..our deliverer…our rock…..the mountain from whence our help comes from….and we keep our eyes glued to that spot waiting for Him to appear……this is how I have chosen to fight despair and depression in my darkest hours…..may God give us eyes to see: the only one who is mighty to save…the only one who has conquered death and sin and satan……the only one who has the power, and dominion over all things seen and unseen…the One to whom every knee will bow and every tongue confess….the one who has the world (and each one of us!) in the palm of his mighty hand….
    what a thought….and what a glorious Hope!

  • One of the things I thought of as I began to write this post was the fact that Jesus wept. He grieved. We are allowed to weep and grieve and I continue to do that sometimes. The tears wash the soul. I just need to make sure I don’t drown and just go ahead in faith,  like you said. And Jesus is the source of faith, hope and of course, LOVE!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *