September 17, 2013

  • The Fruit of Forgiveness

    DSC_0163edit

    Through the dining area window and over the fence, I have admired the growing ~more~ gorgeous crop of flowers. Why didn’t God bless my yard with such “green thumbness”? It was okay, however, because at least, she planted them in that particular spot, never dreaming of what a healing blessing they would become.

    We’d been out of sorts for years; on again, off again sort of friends. Turmoil invaded their family through drugs and abuse and anger. Lots of anger. Also, sneaky manipulation, which I discovered was a product of the addictions. The cops came and went, the yelling began and stopped and began and stopped. And that was just what happened on their side because of their behavior. I won’t waste time here with how their life choices affected us.

    One day, I finally realized the meaning of grace and forgiveness. The WHOLE meaning. God gave me the opportunity to go over there and apologize to pretty neighbor for how I wrongly “handled” things at times. I ended up sobbing as she hugged me and acknowledged that she, too, had mishandled things. After the tears, hugs, apologies and declarations of building a new friendship, we were on new footing.  Now and then, we had the chance to say Hi and How’s “it” going, etc.   Then came my mother’s cancer diagnosis news. Pretty neighbor promised to pray and think positive. Summer rolled along and each of us was so busy, we didn’t get to say Hi…a smiley wave was good enough, but rare. One afternoon, hubby and I pulled into our driveway and got out of the Xterra. Pretty neighbor was coming toward us and I suppose our emotions were all over our faces because she stopped in her tracks and voice wobbly asked, “what’s wrong, what happened?”  My mom died. Oh, the hugs and tears. I cry quietly now as I recall that moment.

    The other day, pretty neighbor came to my door, holding the most gorgeous bunch of her flowers., cut from that very spot I’ve been admiring. A gift. For me. You can imagine, I hope, how glorious that was and is. Healing takes time. This is the fruit of forgiveness.

     

Comments (10)

  • beautifully written ~ beautiful story ~ thank you for sharing ~

  • Thanks for sharing!! Beautiful!

  • What a very beautiful story of forgivenesss and friendship, Gail. Thanks for sharing it :-) !

    • Thank you, Janet! I felt like today was the right day to write about it.

  • so beautiful Gail. And grace…the grace to extend that forgiveness. Such a blessing.

    • If it wasn’t for God, I’m not sure I would have enough grace on my own to extend that forgiveness. I’m so thankful for his help!

  • that was sweet of her.

    sometimes the best thing a friend can do is just listen and be present in the moment without solutions for them.

  • people change…thank the Lord!

  • Gail, how are you doing?

    • Hi Frank…I’m doing alright. Just trying to find the New Normal and still helping Dad with tying up loose ends. He’s doing okay but now when I’m at his place, I hate to leave. He gets teary eyed, but doesn’t cry. Like he says about the situation, “It’s weird”. Indeed, it is!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *