Month: November 2013

  • Move Over Rain, I Need SUNSHINE!!!

    DSC_0524editDSC_0406editDSC_0465edit

     

     

    Thankful posts are all over Facebook. I want to place a Thankful post here, but first, I want to say that I seriously need the sun to shine for more than 5 minutes. Like, maybe tomorrow? Okay, complaint over.

    Thankfully, our new windows are IN and not only that, we have shutters on the front 3 windows. I have wanted shutters for years and years. The house now looks and feels cozy and inviting. The money for this project came as a result of the passing of my husband’s parents 5 and 6 years ago. Their deaths bring those emotions of mine up out of storage, but I truly appreciate what they have provided.

    I am even thankful for the rain, because it does water the trees and brush and any underground surprises that might appear in the spring. I need to get to the garden store and buy some bulbs because last year I was too depressed to bother. This year, I am desperately looking forward to seeing a pretty assortment of spring flowers here. My mom would be so happy to know that I am “doing better”.  Speaking of mom…

    Thank you, Jesus for always being with me, in me, through me. If it wasn’t for you, I don’t think I’d be in any operable shape today. Thank you for allowing me to have a dream very early this morning in which I saw mom, clearly younger and gorgeous and smiling on a television screen. In the dream, I was shocked to see her on TV and began sobbing. And that, as You know, is how I woke up. You do know how I miss her and you must’ve comforted me because I was able to fall asleep and feel rested when I woke up again later.

    The sense of humor you have instilled in some of our friends is a blessing, along with their smarts about the Bible, specifically when we’re studying YOU, Jesus. I cannot wait to be completely with you.

    There have been moments lately where I have gone to the store and silently complained about what is no longer in stock. I have also been grumpy about the fact that some food products no longer taste like the quality they used to contain, such as Kraft parmesan cheese and Quaker Oats and bread. Sizes are dwindling while prices rise. I get it, I really do. Times “are ‘a changin’!” The thing I need to be thankful for is that I do still eat and I can do without the cheese and those oats AND the bread! I think back to the days when I was a poor missionary kid, when we ate nothing but beans and tortillas and fish and on good days, dad would bring home a hen to roast. YUM!  I won’t claim that “those were the good ‘ole days” because there was so much pain, emotional and physical. But living on the very basics, living simply and being thankful for that, is SO rewarding, actually. Today, I feel spoiled, because we have a 21 pound turkey in the frig, doing the slow, careful defrost for Thanksgiving din-din.

    My family is something to be thankful for and right now, I am so excited that very soon, less than 3 weeks now, we’ll be watching our daughter graduate from her university. Not only that, we’ll get to meet her special guy’s family and go tour a bit of Austin, TEXAS (Big letters for the big state) together. This event is also great because hubby and I FINALLY, FINALLY, FINALLY get to go and HAVE SOME FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!

    No matter what A Day In The Life throws at you, give it to God and let Him help you deal with it. That’s where I find more things to be thankful for.