January 26, 2014

  • Words and a Picture

    243edit

    This pond appears to have a sheet of plastic wrap on it. At times, I feel as if that is me; living with a protective sheet of plastic on myself. I have lived well since November

    yet, there have been difficulties. That’s life here. Thankfully, I am focusing on what is true and good. Right now, what is true and good is that we are loved. We have choices to make. We do what we can to be healthier, though sometimes, I still need that occasional fattening mocha. Fat cells still cling to my body. That will not look pretty when I wear my MOTHER of the BRIDE dress! (I am, however, eating more carefully.).

    On December 19th, after requesting and receiving our blessing, a special young man proposed to our daughter. That was a very special moment and Christmas was mostly about what love and marriage and wedding plans would look like rather than the typical Christmas.  And that was fine by me! The wedding will be in June, outdoors, and we pray for no stormy weather!

    Weather here has been so weird this year. Temperatures in the 60s with no rain means it feels like a dry, dry Spring. I actually love it, but I need to water my bulbs to make sure they bloom nicely. Because of the warmth, I am pining for the beach. Oh, I do so need that kind of a getaway, yet I shouldn’t complain. At least our time in Texas in December was FUN! We did the Indoor Skydiving at IFly in Austin. Now I know; if I ever need a complete release of tension, do IFly. I laughed hysterically when I came out of the fly tube. It was so funny to have that happen to me the 2 times I “flew”.  Hysterical laughing after being brave enough to go through with what could be a scary and dangerous experience was my entire being’s way of letting go. Facing and conquering fear was very important to me and definitely moved me forward, emotionally, away from the grief of my mother’s death. Afterwards, I wondered if she was cheering for me from where she is. I imagined her big grin. Maybe the Texas experience, with Brianne’s graduation, the indoor skydiving, the eating at different eateries, meeting Brianne’s future In-Laws, taking pictures in different places, the airplane flights…was all better than a quick trip to the ocean would be.  The hard part sometimes, is coming home and getting pulled back into the Home groove with all this pushing and pulling from people who need us for many different reasons. I truly appreciate being needed and wanted but only to a certain level. Then, I am done, finished, needing a whole new break. For now, I don’t see that break happening, and I am still “on call” for my dad and the things he wants accomplished. Maybe after this next week, I can declare myself UNavailable for a little while. I do need to be with people who are not pushing and pulling me, to get out and share time together for a hike with our cameras, coffee/mocha at a favorite cozy, funky coffee shop while we catch up on the latest news (without gossiping of course, because gossiping is just wrong and so passe), walking around the courthouse  square because we all need to get some air and extra exercise, stopping at the local women’s shelter to deliver bread and tortillas, going to the Griefshare group,….sitting around doing nothing is not in my reperoitoire.

    Alright now. I have used up my words.

Comments (8)

  • I am trying to eat more health at age 80 and failing–again. My wife saw the scales jump and went back to healthy cooking again instead of picking up food at the Fast Fat outlets.

    Weddings are great, but stressful to plan. Two of our three kids married and that was a challenge.

    I think talking about others is normal. I cannot imagine what people say about me. lol

    Hope you have a great spring. We are desperate for water her, but so far no one is praying for it corporately.

    frank

    • I hope YOU have a great Spring…healthy and all with lots of walk time with Rusty and some fun with Norma. As for praying for rain, I have a friend who lives and works on her hubby’s family’s ranch up out of Bakersfield and they are having a rough time, dealing with the lack of water. ANyone in their same situation (ranchers, farmers) are praying for a break in the drought. They are desperate, and they say part of the problem is political. What a shame.

  • you sound like you have been really doing a lot.
    I think that is funny about the laughing. I think laughing is like jogging on the inside without actually moving.
    I think that is neat that your daughter is in love. My two sons are both married so I’ve done the big wedding thing twice. I like to go to Bride Shows for the free samples of cake. LOL

  • Since I’ve had experience with being the mother of the groom, and the mother of the bride, I know that being the mother of the bride is much harder. Our youngest son will be getting married in August. We’re praying for good weather too. The bride wants an outdoor wedding, although there is a room so that it can be moved inside if necessary. If this weather ever co-operates, I want to go to my friend’s for coffee and time in her hot tub. I haven’t been anywhere since Wed. when I took my mother’s glasses prescription to the store.

  • Wow — what a great life you’ve been leading recently! When my mom was depending upon me, I found that I had simply to say I can’t do whatever right at that time, or couldn’t be in Santa Barbara then — I needed the down time, but didn’t want to have to explain that — it’s ok!

    Congrats to Bri — will they be back in AZ, or will they continue to live in TX? What fun you seemed to have in TX in December — it is touogh coming home, but keep looking forward to the happy times ahead!

    Love you, Gail — I hope you’ll find a way to get back to the coast sometime before too long!

    • I still need to learn…now…to tell my dad that I can’t be available to do everything he wants me to do, but it’s hard. He has a writing assignment for a lady who’s writing a book and guess who’s stuck writing a 200 word article for dad/her? ME! The writing is something my mom would’ve done in her healthier days. Now, that load has been dropped on me, but I realize that I have allowed it to happen. I must figure out how to find my own replacement. Other than that, I am now responsible for more of my older sister’s care, specifically dental. She’s extremely fearful and cried when my younger sis and I told her it is TIME to get her mouth taken care of (after 12-15 years of no care whatsoever). This is all stressful to me, yet I know that God is with me and will give me the fortitude to carry out these important tasks while shedding the non-important ones. I love you bunches, Janet and I’ll remember to look forward to the good times ahead! I’d drop everything and come to your beach right now if I could get away with it! ( 8

  • It was interesting to read the update from you this morning – just after praying for you. You are on my prayer list for the 27th of each month. :) Blessings on your day.

    • Ohhh, Doris, that got me all choked up, but in a good way! Thank you for your faithful prayers! I’m glad we seem to have a special connection! I hope you and your family are well. I need to get caught up on how things are!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *