May 29, 2013

  • What Thyme is It? Life in the Day…

    This is lemon scented Thyme. I love the teeny tiny flowers, which I have brought closer to my eyes with the use of my macro tube set. Someday, I’d love to own a true macro lens, but the tube set works well enough. The fascination of peeking into a tiny world will never leave me.
    How does God see me? What matters more to me is his love and what I do with it.
    Today, I was emotionally and a bit physically tired from all the big ugly news. However, when my mom told me that the food in their house didn’t appeal to her, I asked if a little roast beef might be good. No, she told me. “Maybe a smoothie”.  I kicked my tired self into gear and whipped up a luscious banana berry smoothie, packed it in ice and drove over to my parents’ house. I delivered it to her in her bed. Much to my delight, she was on her cell phone, laughing at whatever my dear daughter was telling her.
    Timing. It was more than perfect. My daughter’s kindness in reaching out to her Mommom while I delivered a much needed smoothie. The Laughter! YAY! I SO needed to hear her laugh! She’s facing a rough time. Time that will be all about pain, more pain. Treatments. Hair loss and who knows what else. 
    Thyme makes me think of Time. What am I doing with it? Am I showing compassion…enough of it? There are teeny tiny ways of helping that turn out to be huge to the person receiving the kindness. Mom needs help, Dad needs help, older sister has her own issues. I’ve been saying, “We WILL do this, we WILL get through this” as if I am my own cheerleader.. Pray I don’t curl up in the closet and have a breakdown.. Wait. Maybe I NEED to do just that. And then pull it together and soldier on, not because I have to but because I believe in giving everything I have to help my family.
    Two of my daughter’s friends have offered to make dinner for me and hubby and red-haired son on Thursday, the day I take my mom for her ultrasound biopsy. My younger sis and brother are making the 2 hour drive to be there, too.  Kindness……it sure does help.  Make the most of the time you have.

Comments (6)

  • If taking care of yourself means that you need to curl up and have a quick breakdown occasionally, let yourself do just that, Gail.  It’s the way you will get through the next few months!  Your friends’ fixing dinner for you is a blessing, as will be your sister and brother being with you on Thursday — and how wonderful that your daughter was on the phone just when you needed her to be — for you and for your mom.  You are well loved (here, too) — HUGS!!!

  • I loved to read how God met your needs – and He will continue to do so – one day at a time. Love and blessings to you today.

  • My prayers are with you and your family.

  • we should always think of the million simple things we can do for people, instead of getting overwhelmed by looking for big things to do.  prayers–karen

  • breakdowns are part of the plan too I think….just like pulling yourself back together again.  You CAN do this…big hugs!

  • Oh me Gail, I know it isn’t easy to go through this, I know it because I have done it, with my dad, & my sister. With my daughter for her son….yes strength will come from places you never knew it existed. God will open doors & you will meet so many loving caring folks who will become parts of your life. The folks that administer the chemo, all the patients there as she receives it. Everyone involved will become a small part if not a huge part of yalls life…& the family will be there for moral, physical, & mental strength for each other…God is so good & so loving….I have my arms wrapped around you all….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *