July 16, 2013

  • Today Was Different

     

    It rained. A lot. Then the sun shone through as it dropped.
    Earlier, the above scene was something I enjoyed from our car ride home from the Phoenix Airport. I’m so thankful that Brianne and “her” Ryan are here now and visits with Mommom will be cherished. I wonder if Brianne will cry when it’s time to tell her good-bye. I know mom will cry…she did the other day with the grandkids she hadn’t seen in several years.
    ANYway, being at the airport was so fun. I just love that place. There are people going hither and thither and yon, hauling fancy backpacks and pulling all kinds of luggage and babies and people being pushed along in their wheelchairs by assistants who seem to be pushing them beyond the speed limit. I was glad to stop at the Starbucks to get my “go juice”. I thanked the “barista” for being so pleasant. Last time we were there, we had quite the grumpy one. If I worked at that Starbuck’s, I’d be a ray of sunshine to all who came my way.
    It’s so late now, I can hardly stand it. Tomorrow, we’ll be running errands. Ryan has a job interview, I need to do a bank errand and then Brianne and her Ryan will go with me to mom and dad’s for awhile. Oh yes, and we have to make the bread pudding. Then, I need to finish editing photos I was asked to take at the funeral of one of the now famous 19 firefighter-hotshots that were killed. I was very discreet with the photos and most of them are from outside (not cemetery). I truly believe God was putting my finger on the button at certain times. And if ever I am asked to take pictures at an event like that one, I will say No. It was just. so. hard. You can’t take pictures and cry at the same time. I can’t, anyway.
    Without the benefit of advil p.m., but with the aid of do’terra Balance oil drops, I will lay my head down onto my squishy pillow and relax. Then pray. Then sleep. I hope.

Comments (5)

  • We always enjoy the International Terminal at O’Hare in Chciago.  The drive there is not fun, but once we get there, the people-watching is great.  God made so many different kids of us.My daughter-in-law is a photographer.  She used to do weddings, but quit because it was too much stress.  I would think a funeral would be much worse, especially in the case of a tragic death.

  • I think that taking pictures at a funeral would be so very difficult. your town and you have had to walk such horrific tragedy. I am so very sorry. but I’m also thinking that you probably captured something unique and precious—because of your sensitive, caring heart and tear filled eyes. you have a gift. whispering prayers… that even gail’s editing would reveal HIS glory.and btw, I LOVE airports too! The Farmer and I would go to Reagan national in d.c. a lot when we were dating… just to watch the planes, people. and DREAM… :)

  • Does the do’terra work? I’ve been battling a lot of pain and wondered if it might help. I have a pinched nerve in my right hip. Very frustrating. I honestly have no clue how you took those pictures. It’s good that the Lord helped you with that. I would have been crying and not able to see to take pics. Praying for you as you love on your mom and take care of her. I think it does a lot of good to get a break from care-taking. My mom had to take short breaks when my grandma got bad. Continuing to pray for you and your family during this difficult time. ((((big warm hugs))))

  • not to sound too dumb here but what firefighter tragedy?

  • @floridayankees - It was on national news…Yarnell Hill fire near Prescott, 19 of 20 of the Granite Mountain Hot Shot crew died when trapped by fire that whipped around them. My family and I knew several of the guys and or the families they came from. Horrendous tragedy that impacted the whole town and beyond.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *